My Review of Shadow and Bone (The Grisha #1)


The Shadow Fold, a swathe of impenetrable darkness, crawling with monsters that feast on human flesh, is slowly destroying the once-great nation of Ravka.

Alina, a pale, lonely orphan, discovers a unique power that thrusts her into the lavish world of the kingdom’s magical elite—the Grisha.  She is trained physically and mentally to use her power, which could possibly destroy the Shadow Fold. Her charming master, the Darkling, might not be as trustworthy as he first seemed, however…

This book was incredibly addicting. I read it in a day and a half, and wish I hadn’t because now I want more. Rather homely Alina, a spunky girl with a sad past, is suddenly the nation’s only hope if they want to destroy the Shadow Fold.

The writing was beautiful. It didn’t suck you out of the story with superfluous language, but it conveyed the character’s personalities, feelings, and struggles perfectly. I felt like I knew what it was like to live in her country of Ravka, because I got to know the people’s fears and hopes so well, but I also could picture the diverse landscape in my head.

This book’s setting was very unique compared to other YA stories being published currently. It had Russian culture (and some Russian words were thrown in there as well), but went under the name Ravka. The barren landscape and the Shadow Fold (known on maps as the Unsea) made for a very interesting landscape.

I can’t wait for the sequel!

Thoughts

